Get Messy + 12 x 12s – First in a Very Long Time!

I’m really loving my new art journal community at http://www.getmessyartjournal.com  They supply prompts and you supply the creativity.

I had already watercolored this galaxy and didn’t know what I was going to do with it…  I’ve done that a lot, lately – playing with paint on loose paper, not sure where they’re going to end up but if I can use them in my journal, that would be awesome.  I have a whole stack of them at this point!

0615161134

I’m still working in my altered book.  In the picture below,  I glued three pages together for more heft and Gessoed them, then painted them black to mount the galaxy.

I read somewhere to photograph artwork on a white background so that you can see it better…  I’m giving it a go here and I really like how crisp it makes everything.  Who knew?  (well clearly, lots of people knew – just not me…)

0623161518

My first wild background!  Finally letting go and getting free with the paint and collagey stuff.  Encouraged heavily by Adele Toomey‘s “Journal by 5s” Youtube series.  It’s so much fun to finally be seeing things on paper that I like!

0621161030b

In our Get Messy Art Journal community we were asked if we’d like to team up with other members as mentors or mentees.  YES PLEASE.  We were lucky to get teamed up with Zinia Amoiridou.  She’s an art student in Greece and a very creative and talented artist.  If you’d like to check out some of her work you can find her here:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCi9GfBAFqrtBOGxjDj4yk1w on Youtube and here:  https://www.instagram.com/abstractinspiration/ On Instagram.  She encouraged me to paint this cherry blossom tree and I used it in my art journal this week!    (white background makes it pretty too!)

0629161013

Ok, so I’m completely new with collage.  This being the first one ever!  The assignment was to determine what your first thought in the morning is and cut words and pictures out of magazines that remind you of that thing.  My “thing” (sorry honey) is Scott.  Love you, thing!!!  xxoo

0629161343

While I’ve had all my paints out playing everyday, I thought I might give 12 x 12 Mixed Media Scrapbooking a try.  I’m just including these pages in my Project Life book.  I don’t want several books going at the same time (like I have planners…Geesh…)

Mostly I’m just playing with paint here!

0621161657

The layout below was also inspired by a layout that Zinia did.  My colors aren’t as exciting as the ones she chose but I still like it.  Soft, pastel – yep that’s my thing. (not until this year – I still have no idea what’s gotten into me…  I’ve always been a rich, dark, autumn color person.)

0628161301

I think I’m all caught up on the sharing portion of the program.  Still really enjoying all the arty stuff.

I’m still knitting in the evenings and finally talked my Mom into a knit-a-long, but we haven’t been making the time for it lately.  I’ll share when I get to the heal turn!  (my favorite part of sock knitting!)

I’m done for now…  I’m in serious need of coffee.  Have a beautiful day!

 

One thought on “Get Messy + 12 x 12s – First in a Very Long Time!

  1. Love your art journal pages and the 12×12’s! I joined that community but have yet to dive in, lol! I also haven’t made a 12×12 page in over 5 years (except for PL layouts but not the same, lol)…great work!

    Blessings,

Leave a comment