One Little Word 2015–The Work Begins!

The work begins!  (and I’m not referring to building the pretty pages in the book, which isn’t really “work”.)

Here’s a look at my January entry.  I’ll be using any and all shades of green this year and I’m envisioning using images of big, strong, healthy trees throughout.

Thrivetree

This is the title page, which I think is kind of necessary for separation since I’ve been using the same album for four years now.  (Eye candy)

IMG_7236

The basic, technical stuff and photos:

IMG_7238

Here, we start to narrow down what we actually are trying to get out of our word, why we chose it, and what it truly means.  (Truth be told, photographs are the only embellishments I need.)

IMG_7239

Getting these preliminary, general thoughts down on paper really helps to figure out where you’re heading and what you are willing to do to make it all happen.  It doesn’t take long, but it does take a few quiet, undistracted minutes.

IMG_7240

And here’s where you really start laying out a plan and begin to figure out the tangible things you are going to do in order to make your word work. (there’ll be an assignment, probably in February, that will have us documenting real actions and kind of making a commitment to yourself.  This prompt always helps me and I look back at it throughout the year.)

IMG_7241

I usually spend a little bit of money on a fun object or two to help keep my word visible.  Last year I bought this cute, recycled cut-out, but I don’t think I’ll do that again.  (although they’re very popular, I couldn’t figure out how to incorporate it well, in my journey.) 

IMG_3304

I do LOVE my ring.  I order a little sterling silver ring each year, engraved with my word and I wear it every single day.  I buy mine here:  https://www.etsy.com/listing/19216685/one-word-ring?ref=shop_home_active_3

IMG_20130104_213220

I ran across a girl on Instagram who is making these beautiful, organic-looking necklaces.  (she made this one especially for me, when I commented that my word was THRIVE and my symbol will be a tree.)  I can’t wait to get it!  The necklaces will be in her online shop on January 9th, if you’d like to take a look:  http://www.creativecarmella.com/

Untitled

Also in our January prompt was to figure out one, small thing that we can do immediately to start making our word work.

Some of my ideas are just to continue my work from last year’s word, NURTURE,  i.e. continue exercising, continue drinking water everyday, continue eating healthy.  I have yet to come up with some additional, baby step I want to take. 

I’ll be helping a family member, who is going in for surgery, this week.  Maybe my baby step will be finding stuff to be grateful for in a potentially stressful situation or making time for prayer.  We’ll see what feels right.

I’m very excited to see where this takes me.

Leave a Reply

