Struggling

I don’t know why I’ve given myself permission to cave…  As you probably figured out from the very first sentence, the diet isn’t going so well right now. 

-Fresh produce isn’t as easy to come by these days.  I can’t go in the backyard and pick veggies anymore.

-Fall is my favorite time of year and there are all kinds of seasonal goodies hitting the supermarket shelves.

-I love to bake when the weather turns cooler.

I feel particularly like I’ve abandoned my efforts because I was out of town all last week and skipped a whole week of working out.  Eating out every meal for a week and entertaining out-of- state family.  It was fun, but I ate too much.

I keep telling myself, “Nothing you can do about last week.  Just start over today.” 

Truth is, since my last check-up with the doctor, 5 weeks ago, I bet I’ve lost a couple pounds.  That’s it…  a couple pounds.  Because every other day, I abandon my efforts in favor of having fun.

I want to lose more weight this year!  I don’t have to abandon my diet for THE SEASON.  I can eat what I want on Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.  I don’t need to “celebrate” the whole SEASON.

I have lost 30 lbs as of my last check-up.  Maybe I’ve lost a couple more.  My next check-up is this Wednesday.  I’ve been going back and forth over whether I want to go or not, considering I’m not doing so well.  But I think I’ve come to the conclusion that when I’m not doing well is the time I need to go most.

They’ll give me goals and suggest alternatives.  They’re my cheerleaders.  They’re on my side and want me to succeed.

I’m following a couple girls on Facebook now, whose lives revolve around their diets, workouts and losing weight.  It’s inspirational when I’m looking for a pick-me-up but I realized pretty quickly that I don’t want my life to revolve around this stuff.  (I may have to consciously choose to eat healthy every day but I don’t want to be obsessed with food and exercise.  I just want to live it and do it.)

And I have a questions for my fit friends:  do you have to think about what you eat everyday?  Or do you just eat whatever’s available when you’re hungry?  Do you think about your weight?  Do you feel badly when you eat something fattening?

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

