Getting Ready. School starts on September 3rd!

We’re going to gently ease back into school this year.  We aren’t a jump-all-in type of family. 

IMG_6003edited2

We’ll be starting back on September 3rd, after our last summer outing to Colorado over the Labor Day weekend.

14959815505_3be4409706_o

And there’ll be first-day-of-school pictures! (even though we homeschool.) 

So here it is:

IMG_6138edited

Doesn’t look like much, huh?

We’re trying a new program for Language Arts this year called  Caught’ya! Grammar with a Giggle.  I’m hoping it’ll put a little bit of fun back into learning how to write well…

We’re starting back with Life of Fred for math just long enough (probably) to finish this current book.  Then, unbeknownst to the boys, we’ll be returning to Math U See.  I’m not sure what they’ll think about the change.  They say they like Fred, but honestly, I’ve heard just as much whining and complaining with Fred as with anything else…

Then we’re going to start learning about the French Revolution with Horatio Hornblower on dvd.  (this is the gentle ease back into things.)  History is going to be watching television for the first couple of weeks.  It’ll be a peaceful time for us to share and watch and discuss in a relaxed way. I have lots of fun activities, books, and movies lined up after this! 

minecraft

Another easy re-entry will be our initial science curriculum this year.  I’ve signed the boys up for Minecraft Homeschool.  It’s a study of the biomes of the world.  The boys will be introduced to a specific biome each week, read material about that biome, take a quiz and then build it in Minecraft.  They are very excited about this one!

The boys will be coming up with nutritious dinner menus and cooking family dinners this year for Health.

And later, we’ll be adding more reading.  (Remember, gentle return to school!)

I’ve nurtured a slow return to a regular treadmill schedule this summer for myself and the boys will be returning to the treadmills too.  (or even better, walking outdoors with the fall weather on its way.  HOW MUCH FUN IS THE WEATHER TODAY, AUGUST 28TH, THE HIGH IS 64 DEGREES!  Sure puts me in the mood to put the garden to rest and decorate for Halloween!  Shhh, I didn’t say that.  I have 12 more lbs to lose before October 14th!)

Back to topic – I think the exercise in unschooling was really good for all of us.  It taught me to lighten up.  Of course the boys loved it.  I think they’d spend 24/7 on the xbox though and that wasn’t sitting well with me.  I read lots of studies that said spending unlimited time on a gaming machine was just fine.  It just didn’t feel like the right thing to do.

I’m not quite sure how I want to manage our video game time yet.  There are aspects of it that are educational and it is one kind of “social”.  So I’m probably going to let them play when they finish their assignments (and I check them) each day.

You can find a study on the internet to support any and all approaches to education.  You just have to watch and learn what works best for your child and what feels right to you.  That’s what we’re doing – trying, observing, making choices.  We’re so blessed to be able to do this!

Leave a Reply

