Beginning The Whole 30 Challenge

I had decided that I wanted to prepare some foods ahead of time.  Something I read in Well Fed, which you can find here:  http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/061557226X/ref=oh_details_o04_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 .  I didn’t want to have to cook from scratch at each meal.  So on Wednesday I braised cabbage and onions,

IMG_4976

sautéed peppers and onions,

IMG_4979

baked chicken breasts,

IMG_4977

browned ground beef and sautéed baby portobellos and onions.

IMG_4982

Then on Thursday, I was ready to go… 

and then I woke up. 

I had a couple ideas for coffee creamer.  I  bought unsweetened coconut milk (not the canned kind) and unsweetened almond milk.  They were both terrible and the only reason they aren’t down the drain is that they’ll probably come in handy in recipes.

So I found a recipe for Paleo coffee creamer and made that. http://hip2save.com/2012/02/29/delicious-coconut-milk-coffee-creamer-recipe-non-dairy-paleo-friendly/   Not great, but better…  (nope, I didn’t use a raw egg.  I pasteurized a couple eggs and you can find instructions on how to do that here:  http://bakingbites.com/2011/03/how-to-pasteurize-eggs-at-home/ )

I’m leaning toward giving up coffee for the next 30 days.  So I started my first day feeling pretty sorry for myself.  (just the attitude that I had hoped to avoid.)

A little while later, I set out to make breakfast. I scrambled some eggs and sliced a tomato.  Then I got some of those pre-cooked peppers and onions out and heated them up.  It was all pretty good.  Just FYI – eggs don’t taste the same without milk and a little bit of cheddar cheese in them…  (my picky children wouldn’t even eat them.)  Oh well…

14101816903_91b9761ce6_z

A friend invited me to her house for a green smoothie and I had to take her up on it.  (I had never had one before)  And I was so amazed that I liked it!  There’ll be more of them in my future (but not too many during the next 30 days because I like lots of fruit in mine.)

14105177323_0fcdfce3a7_z

Lunch was turning a corner for me!  It was really, really good!  I fixed a bed of braised cabbage and onions and then topped it with the ground beef and sautéed mushrooms.

13896527017_e11f638b12_z 

The only thing that would have made it better was soy sauce and I’ve heard that coconut aminos taste like soy sauce.  (I bought some today.)  If that doesn’t work, I found a recipe for soy sauce that I’ll try next – Balsamic vinegar, fish sauce and other stuff.

And then for dinner, we went out for Mexican food.  I had Chicken fajitas and lettuce, tomato and avocado.  It was all delicious.  (Our favorite little Mexican restaurant here in town, is always good.)

13898499028_519e54e129_z

Sometime during the day, I had a handful of cashews too.

My first day wasn’t too bad. 

I have a couple friends doing the challenge with me and my aunt is on her 4th week of a very Paleo diet.  So we’re sharing ideas and recipes and foodie pictures.

My aunt has also convinced me to start oil pulling, which I began today with coconut oil.  If you want to know more about oil pulling, you can click here:  http://www.foodmatters.tv/articles-1/oil-pulling-the-habit-that-can-transform-your-health.  

The feeling of a small tablespoon of pure oil in your mouth is weird but not near as gaggy as I thought it might be.   And if a fraction of the health benefits that I’ve read about are true, it’s worth it.   I couldn’t find any information that said swishing oil in your mouth for 15 minutes a day is harmful in any way.  So why not give it a try.

I hope these pretty drastic changes in my diet make a huge difference in how I feel.  This is a true test.  One that I’m willing to live with the rest of my life if it works!  Wish me luck, say a prayer, keep your fingers crossed for me?  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

