Year in Pictures–Week 42

288:365

IMG_7317

Sunday, July 10, 2011

Our Sweet Basil is growing like a weed right now!  And without ripe tomatoes, we aren’t eating it yet.  I think I will trim it way back and get my dehydrator out!

289:365

mosaic3f456b49ee03562922d03ee99f012f63364983dd

Monday, July 11, 2011

I didn’t have high hopes…  gluten free pie crust? Mulberries?  I just started playing with rhubarb this summer and the jury is still out on it…  But you put them all together and THEY’RE DELICIOUS!  (I know, it’s not a pretty pie – the crust was very sticky and hard to work with)  But darned if the ugly thing wasn’t very yummy!  I’m glad because it was a lot of work!

290:365

IMG_7335

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

We’re drying out this week, with the high temperatures each day of 100+. But last week we had many afternoons that looked just like this.  I think the Nebraska panhandle is as green as it has EVER been!

291:365

IMG_7503

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Finished these today for a friend’s baby boy, due in October.  This is my favorite baby bootie pattern, very easy and quick, but you have to find a stretchy bind off or the cuff will be too tight.  And I adlibbed the crocheted ties.  I remember it being tough keeping booties on my babies!  Here’s the pattern, if you’d like to look:  http://knit4children.tripod.com/id16.html and here’s the stretchy bind off that I used (it’s very cool):  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=abBhe-JYmgI .

292:365

IMG_7382

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Got Happy Meals and took them to the park to eat!  We used to do this all the time in Iowa.  I’d pick up tiny boys at preschool around lunch time and we’d go pick up lunch at McDonald’s and head to the closest park.  Of course in West Des Moines/Des Moines there’s a park on every other block to choose from!  It was awesome and we frequented ALL of them!

100_6482

See? (November 2005 at some beautiful park in Wes Des Moines, Iowa.)

293:365

IMG_7428

Friday, July 15, 2011

Gratuitous pretty Goldendoodle face picture.

294:365

scavengerhunt2

Saturday, July 16, 2011

This is a photo for a scavenger hunt the boys and I are doing.  Supposed to be a person, making a silly face.  So, out to dinner the other night, I asked our Daddy to make a silly face and this is what we got.  Ain’t he purdy… and he’s all mine, girls!  LOL  Love you, honey!!

One thought on “Year in Pictures–Week 42

  1. Wow — I hate wrestling with pie crust dough anyway, I think gluten free stickiness would be the end of it all in my house! The pie sounds amazing though. We have blackberries galore here that grow in the wild that are ripening…. they’re amazing. Better than raspberries. It’s just important to get to them before the bears do!

    LOVE the WDM photo. 🙂 Ahhh… Iowa. Fridays are our happy meal day around here.

Leave a Reply

