Year in Pictures–Week 23

147:365

IMG_4499_1

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Spontaneous road trip to Fort Collins, Colorado.  Had a ball, shopping, eating out, having fun with my 3 people!  We didn’t get home til midnight and we had to drive through thick fog to get there.  It was a trying little ride home, but worth it.

148:365

IMG_4449

Sunday, February 20, 2011

Had to share this find!!  This is, by far, one of the tastiest things I’ve found in a long time.  (and actually I didn’t find it, my husband did.)  I dipped chicken fingers into it and it was SO delicious!  Rich and creamy, but a lot less calories than mayonnaise.

149:365

IMG_4548

Monday, February 21, 2011

I love that Scotty still hangs onto these three items.  They’ve been his special night-time things since he was a tiny baby.  Of course these days he DOES hide them behind a pillow when he makes up his bed…  The elephant’s name is Bump and there are two plush blankets underneath Bump and their names are Kiki and Bear Kiki.  (names that Scotty gave them when he was learning to talk.)  Will gave up his blankets about 2 years ago.  His were named Magic and Barney and they’re folded up on a shelf in his closet… sniff, sniff…

150:365

IMG_4555

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

FINALLY…  Will is having a test covering information that actually interests me.  Because I have to know the material to help Will study for his tests, I get to study too…  Sometimes it’s a giant pain in the ass.  This week I had the time to devote to it and actually found it to be fun, learning all about weather.

151:365

IMG_4600

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

The best and easiest meatloaf recipe ever!  And I just thought the colors were really pretty in this shot.  (I know, I’m weird)  If you’d like to take a look at the recipe, you can find it here:  http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Meatloaf-With-A-Bite/Detail.aspx  I would suggest mild salsa if you’re going to be feeding it to kids, though.  I used Medium and it was good and spicy!

152:365

IMG_4567cropped

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Had to take Scotty out of school to go to the doctor.  Nothing serious, just patches of eczema that were getting out of control.  $89.00 worth of co-pays later and he’s feeling much better.  When we got done at the doctor’s office, I agreed to take him to lunch at Perkins, which is where this picture was taken.  It was nice, having time alone with my baby.

153:365

IMG_4440

Friday, February 25, 2011

Getting used to these natural sweeteners wasn’t near as difficult as I feared it might be.  I’m writing this entry on Sunday, February 27th and today is my 12th day without refined sugar.  I’m weaning the boys off it too – or realistically just trying to get them to eat less sugar.  They’re doing an awesome job too, switching to Cheerios instead of Cocoa Pebbles and eating Graham crackers for after-school snacks instead of doughnuts.  They’re doing great!

I even discovered a new product from Crystal Lite last night at the supermarket that’s made from Stevia, instead of Aspartame.  I bought grape and strawberry-kiwi and they’re both really good.  After 2 weeks of plain water, it’s nice to drink something with flavor…

Wish us luck on our continuing mission to eliminate sugar from our lives!  LOL

3 thoughts on “Year in Pictures–Week 23

  1. What’s the agave and what are you doing with it? I’m using stevia, too. Liking just fine! Sugar is my downfall, easily. Emily is like me, too. That child and candy are good friends. Maddie would eat a carrot and not realize it’s not candy, however. My healthy child. lol

Leave a Reply

