It Seemed Like a Good Idea At the Time

Mr.greenjeans I decided back in February that I was going to knit a sweater for myself.  The first sweater I've made for myself. And I was going to make it in a smaller size, since I was having weight loss surgery in April.  The sweater would be like a reward for reaching a weight loss goal.  Sounds fun, huh?

This is Mr. Greenjeans.  It's a cute, easy pattern.  I've loved the process so far.  I'm about half way done with the body (that is knit in one piece from the top down.)  But as soon as it started taking shape, it started looking really big to me.101_2915_01

So, I transferred it to scrap yarn yesterday and tried it on.  Sadly, I was right.  It's too big.  I wanted to wear it this fall and it's too big already. This is a problem, however, as problems go, I can't be totally bummed about this one.  I've been pretty successful with my weight loss so far and for this, I'm very happy! 

I've polled all my knitting buddies and the consensus is:  rip it and wait 'til you're a little closer to your ultimate goal weight to start again.  I have wise friends, don't I !?!101_2917

So with all my knitting time freed up, I will meet my goal of getting Bee's Cub Scout socks done by the end of the month!  Note to self:  Berroco Comfort isn't the greatest yarn to use for socks.  It's all I could find in the colors that I needed. But it's just too soft and stretchy and doesn't bounce back at all…  Live and learn.  I think maybe after a few washings, they'll be better.  They turned out really cute, though…100_0920  I'm sure the boys will love them. 

Here is the pair that Guh made for our Dood.  I just love making the heel and toe a different color.  Makes them look so special.  (I'm easily pleased…)

 

 

 

100_1210 So, now I have time to work on this.

101_1916

And this.

 

Can't complain.

Leave a Reply

