I’ve missed you…

First order of business today is:  Img_0245_2 HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR GUH.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!  AND MANY MORE……….  Love you, Mama.  I hope you have a great day today!  I wish we could all be there, with you.  Make Daddy take you somewhere great for dinner or something…

I don’t think I’ve ever been as busy as I have been these past two weeks…  Two weeks of sick children and getting ready for the holiday and family visits and keeping up with normal life…  It’s all good, but sometimes the blog gets ignored…  it’s ok.

I’ve had a ball with my mom-in-law, chatting, hanging out, knitting.  We’re two peas.  Marla and hers arrived late Thursday and my little boys are in complete bliss!  Surprising to most of my side of the family, I love them all being here.  I love having a full house of family having fun together.  I’ve got to get busy with my camera!

So I have a few pictures to share.  First of all, my "nearly 7 year old"  has lost all his teeth!  (or so it appears)  And he couldn’t be happier about it:100_0190

I’m glad he’s snaggletoothed so now he doesn’t look 10 years old!

Love that boy!

100_0191 I have to show off this ADORABLE little bag that Sandy made for me.  It’s too cute to use as a purse, so it’ll be a project bag, which I tend to handle much more gently.  Isn’t it beautiful?  She’s wonderful!

When I get around to taking pictures and getting my experimental short row heel technique down, I’ll show you what’s in the pretty little bag! 

All the family adults are in Ogallala, fishing today, so I invited Katherine and the kids over to play/knit this afternoon.  I’m hoping she can help me out with my new sock pattern.  (I think I’m going to like it a lot more than the traditional heel flap, turn the heel, pick up the gussett stitches method.)  I’ll keep you posted.100_0195

So here was a pleasant little surprise, out in the middle of nowhere (Sterling, Colorado).  A lys called Fiberspace.  (love the name too!)  I bought my first Yarn Harlot book, Knitting Rules.  Can’t wait to have time to get into that.  Bought some irresistable yarn for little boy socks and some gorgeous yarn to play with and three skeins of baby alpaca out of her DOLLAR BIN!  Yep, one dollar for 200 yards of baby alpaca and I got three of them!  I love it when that happens!  Not sure what I’m going to do with it yet, but I couldn’t resist.  Really, really like this little shop and I’m sure I’ll be back many times.  I was told about this little gem by a local knitter whom I only happened to meet online.  (it’s a small world)  I joined a group on Ravelry for Nebraska Knitters and there she was…and in the same town as us, only a couple blocks away!  We’re hoping to get together soon and get to know each other.  Should be fun.

In other news, rediscovered another shop here in town this week, with my mom-in-law:100_0196   This is our local quilt shop, called Borders.  They’ve moved to a log cabin building and the  decor and space is simply gorgeous!  I just want to hang out in there!  I can’t wait to have an excuse to go back!

So, in closing, I was tagged by my lovely friend, Tracey, but unfortunately I have noone else to tag, because she already tagged all our bloggin’ buddies…lol  But here are my answers to the tag.  Thanks, Tracey…always, always fun to be tagged!

Seven Random Things About Me:

1.  I was a vegetarian for many years, before having children.

2.  I was born and raised in Georgia.  Still have a slight southern accent and love grits!

3.  I’ve had 6 poodles in my life.  (Sadly four of them are playing together in Heaven already.)

4.  I married my first boyfriend/high school sweetheart… 15 years after I broke up with him.

5.  I lived in Anchorage, Alaska for one year, when I was in the first grade.  Moved there with my parents’ church/borderline cult.  (Luckily my folks came to their senses and we re-joined our lives, already in progress, one year later.)

6.  My office/scrapbook room presently looks like a “cat lady/psychotic hoarder” house.  I need to do some serious cleaning, throwing out and organizing!

7.  I’ve lost 14 lbs this month!  (just hoping to keep it off while the in-laws are here…)

Hope you’re having a great weekend.  I’ll be back later.

One thought on “I’ve missed you…

  1. Thanks for all the birthday recognition baby. Love you miss you all. Wish we were there too but can’t ignore all the rest of the family. We’ll have fun as always over at Lela Belle’s house. She would die if she knew her knick name was on a blog.
    We’re out shopping for daddys new Xmas truck today. and groceries.
    Can’t wait to see you all tonight. try cell phones also if can’t find us at home.
    Yeah we are a pretty good looking old fart and young lady huh.
    hehehehe.
    Love Me. Kiss my boys for Guh.

Leave a Reply

