Monday, November 5, 2007

I have a sick boy home from school today.  We got home from a fabulous weekend in Colorado and last night my Doodle started throwing up and it hasn’t stopped yet.  Poor kid…  At least we were able to have a great weekend first.100_0100

First off Saturday morning, Mama and I went and got pedicures.  It was fabulous, as usual.  Those are holly leaves on my big toe…I love how Kristy is willing to try anything…I just asked for holly leaves and drew her one on paper and she put one on my toes!  FABULOUS!  It’s totally made me in the mood for all things Christmas!  I’m listening to Christmas tunes and I’m thinking about putting up the tree today!  (not sure it’s wise to try, though, with a sick boy at home…  We’ll see.)

And so, what did we do the rest of the weekend?100_0115

My knitting instructor gave me the boys’ new Christmas stockings, all done!  Aren’t they awesome?  The boys picked out the colors and Mama knit them up and I’m going to fill them up on Christmas Eve! 

I just love them.  The boys do too!  Thanks, Guh!

100_0118 Next is a project that I’m taking over and finishing for Mama.  She’s abandoned all her half knit socks because the weave hurts the bottom of her feet.  So, she went through all her works-in-progress and gave me a couple, told me I could keep them, if I wanted to finish them.  I LOVED this yarn the first time I saw her working with it, months ago.  Love the fancy pattern and can’t wait to finish them up!  I just about have the first sock finished already…  (she had all the hard stuff done when I got it.)

Then I played around with my new toe-up sock pattern and I’m very pleased with how this one came out:100_0126 

I’m thinking I’ll double strand the heel and find a pretty pattern for the leg…  not sure yet…  But it was fun and I love the M1 increases on the sides of this toe.  They look very uniform.

We spent several hours trying to figure out gauge for a couple sweater patterns, completely confusing ourselves and having to start all over in a study of "gauge."  We called knitting friends and surfed, finally, hopefully, figuring the whole mess out again, late yesterday afternoon.  I sure hope we have it right, because I have my eye on a couple sweater patterns for myself.  Still have to find the yarn, but here’s one of them:100_0139

I think it’s gorgeous!  Unfortunately the specific yarn that the designer used has been discontinued, so I’m on the hunt! If you have any ideas, please let me know.  I’ll probably make my kimono a little longer and I’d like mine to close a little more (overlap a little more).  I can’t wait to get started on this one!

Alrighty, I’ve let the morning get away from me entirely and it’s now 10:30 and I haven’t done a thing.  It’s been a really nice morning.  Now my afternoon is going to be full!

Hope you have a great day!

One thought on “Monday, November 5, 2007

Leave a Reply

