A rich kid and cooking news

I’ve done lots of cooking and trying new recipes lately, especially today!  I worked my butt off today, but it was all fun stuff…  I was disappointed that I didn’t get to do more, but my day was completely full, as it turned out.

So the first thing I want to tell you about it my Dood!  The kid lost another tooth.  Pretty soon he won’t have any and will have to live on applesauce!  He’s so proud and immediately started making plans for his new money!100_8161 He’s so funny.  So onto the cooking.

I made pineapple/pretzel salad while I was at my folk’s house and it was so, so yummy.  I don’t know why it’s called salad?  It’s dessert-clearly!  And it was a huge hit with my parents.  So here’s a picture and the recipe follows.  So, so yummy and cool-perfect food for the hot summer weather we’ve been having lately.100_8122

PINEAPPLE PRETZEL SALAD

2 cups crushed pretzels

1 cup butter, melted

1 (8 oz.) package cream cheese

1 cup sugar

1 (8oz) container frozen shipped topping, thawed

2 (20 oz) cans crushed pineapple

1 (3.4 oz) package instant vanilla pudding mix

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2.  Place crushed pretzels in the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish.  Pour melted butter carefully over top.  Bake in preheated oven 10 minutes.

3.  Cream together cream cheese and sugar.  Fold in whipped topping.  Spread over cooled crust.  Combine pineapple and pudding mix.  Spread over whipped topping layer.  Chill until serving.

YUMMO!100_8179   So today was spent using veggies from our garden, starting with 3 lbs of Roma tomatoes…that eventually became this:100_8192   homemade salsa.  This jar was kept out to eat now and 8 more containers in the freezer.  I haven’t had any of it yet, but my honey said it was delicious!  (Always a good thing, since Scott’s a food snob and doesn’t dish out food compliments lightly…)  I can’t wait to try it-maybe tomorrow.

Also brought home some zucchini from Colorado that became this:100_8180 Apple Zucchini bread.  I found this recipe at www.allrecipes.com and it is really wonderful, crunchy crust and moist inside, sweet.  One for now and one in the freezer…  I love having special stuff in the freezer to whip out whenever I have company…  Makes me feel like a good mommy.

I was pooped by the end of the day, but I was determined to make goulash for dinner tonight.  I’m glad I did.  It was yummy, and made from more homegrown veggies.100_8191   This garden thing is definitely the way to go.  All the bell peppers and tomatoes have been awesome!  Why didn’t I do this before?  Wait til next year, my garden’s going to be twice as big!

Scotty had fun today, got to stay at home with Mommy-the last part of the kindergarten class was having their placement screening today.  So Bee and I go to school for an hour in the morning to take his supplies and see his classroom and meet his teacher.  Wish us luck.

I guess that’s it for today.  It’s been a long, fun, productive day for me.  I’m hoping one day this week, to sit on my butt and maybe do some knitting or quilting…  We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

